Maritime Training, Captain's License, STCW Training in Tampa Florida
6 Pack, OUPV Licenses, STCW, Courses, Captains Licenses Courses in Florida,

STCW 2010 Courses

These courses include Basic Training, Advanced Fire Fighting, Basic and Advanced Stability, Shiphandling, and Meteogology


STCW 2010 Courses

The International Convention on Standards of Training, Certification and Watchkeeping for Seafarers (STCW), 1978 sets minimum qualification standards for masters, officers and watch personnel on seagoing merchant ships. STCW was adopted in 1978 by conference at the International Maritime Organization (IMO) in London, and entered into force in 1984. The Convention was significantly amended in 1995. The Convention prescribes minimum standards relating to training, certification and watchkeeping for seafarers which countries are obliged to meet or exceed.

One especially important feature of the Convention is that it applies to ships of non-party States when visiting ports of States which are Parties to the Convention. Article X requires Parties to apply the control measures to ships of all flags to the extent necessary to ensure that no more favourable treatment is given to ships entitled to fly the flag of a State which is not a Party than is given to ships entitled to fly the flag of a State that is a Party.

The difficulties which could arise for ships of States which are not Parties to the Convention is one reason why the Convention has received such wide acceptance. By 2014, the STCW Convention had 158 Parties, representing 98.8 per cent of world shipping tonnage.

The IMO Convention on Standards of Training Certification and Watchkeeping of Seafarers adopted a new set of amendments in Manila in 2010 called "The Manila Amendments". These amendments were necessary to keep training standards in line with new technological and operational requirements that require new shipboard competencies. The Manila Amendments were effective as of 1 January 2012. There is a transition period until 2017 when all seafarers must be certified and trained according to the new standards. Implementation is progressive, every year a modified set of requirements comes into force. The most significant amendments are:

  • New rest hours for seafarers
  • New grades of certificates of competency for able seafarers in both deck and engine
  • New and updated training, refreshing requirements
  • Mandatory security training
  • Additional medical standards
  • Specific Alcohol limits in blood or breath.
Basic Training.jpg

Basic Training (Previously Basic Safety Training)

he International Convention on Standards of Training, Certification and Watchkeeping for Seafarers (STCW), requires that seafarers be provided with "familiarization training" and "basic safety training" which includes Basic Fire Fighting, Elementary First Aid, Personal Survival Techniques, and Personal Safety and Social Responsibility. This training is intended to ensure that seafarers are aware of the hazards of working on a vessel and can respond appropriately in an emergency.

According to STCW, The STCW 95 Code requires that you take this 5-day course of instruction. This course has to be renewed every 5 years, or under certain conditions, you have to show that you have at least 1 year of service on board vessels of 200 grt or more within the last 5 years. The components generally includes a Fire Prevention and Fire Fighting (Basic Fire fighting) course of 2 days, a Personal Survival Techniques (PST) course of 1.5 days, a Personal Safety and Social Responsibility (PSSR) course of half a day, and, First Aid / CPR (Basic First Aid) course of 1 day.

Basic Safety Training or BST is the starting point for persons seeking employment in the maritime industry.

Advanced Fire Fighting

he primary focus of the STCW Marine Firefighting training programs provide both officers and crew with the knowledge and skills to confidently deal with fires on board a ship. The training increases crew and passenger safety and reduces the potentially serious incidents. International Convention for the Safety of Life at Sea (SOLAS), 1974 includes detailed fire safety provisions for all ships and specific measures for passenger ships, cargo ships and tankers.

Also anyone who owns or operates a boat needs a basic understanding of marine firefighting and the regulations under IMO, STCW, and local administrations have clearly defined training standards and requirements for seafarers onboard and also deputed personnel working ashore.

basic fire.jpg


STCW Operational & Management Level

Management level means the level of responsibility associated with serving as master, chief mate, chief engineer officer or second engineer officer on board a seagoing ship, and ensuring that all functions within the designated area of responsibility are properly performed

Operational level means the level of responsibility associated with serving as officer in charge of a navigational or engineering watch or as designated duty engineer for periodically unmanned machinery spaces or as radio operator on board a seagoing ship, and maintaining direct control over the performance of all functions within the designated area of responsibility in accordance with proper procedures and under the direction of an individual serving in the management level for that area of responsibility.

Operational Level Courses:

  • Terrestrial and Celestial Navigation and Electronic Navigation Systems
  • Watchkeeping, including COLREGS and IMO Standard Marine Communication Phrases (SMCP)
  • Cargo Handling and Stowage
  • Ship Handling
  • Stability and Ship Construction
  • Meteorology
  • Leadership and Teamworking Skills

Management Level Courses:

  • Advanced Shiphandling
  • Advanced Stability
  • Advanced Meteorology 
  • Leadership and Management Skills 
  • Search and Rescue 
  • Management of Medical Care